Homemade Vanilla Extract

extract

Good quality vanilla extract can be really expensive, and the shop I usually buy it from is often out of stock.  But now that I know how easy it is to make at home, I’ll never buy it again.  This recipe is so easy, and tastes even better than shop-bought extract.

If you buy organic vanilla beans in bulk (200g (7oz) of them is around 53 beans) it works out to be less than $5 for the vanilla beans, plus the cost of the vodka.  Even using good vodka this ends up being half the price of what I used to pay for shop bought extract.  (Cheap and nasty vodka will also work in this recipe).

ingredients

Ingredients:

Around 700ml (23oz) vodka
9 vanilla beans

Method:

Pour a little of the vodka out (around 1 or 2 shots worth), save it for later or drink it.

Slice the vanilla beans lengthways in half.  Scraping out some of the pulp and adding this to the vodka will make for a stronger vanilla extract.

Carefully place the vanilla beans and the pulp in the bottle of vodka.  Put the lid on and leave it to infuse in a dark cupboard for around two months.  To speed up the process turn the bottle upside down, then right side up every so often…this means you can use your extract after a month.

When the vanilla extract is ready either remove the beans and put it into smaller bottles (it makes a nice gift), or simply keep it in the vodka bottle with the vanilla beans.

beforeandafter

Posted on April 20, 2013, in cooking, recipes, self-sufficiency and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. HELL YES. I will definitely be making this; thank you! 🙂

  2. Wow, didn’t know it was this easy, thanks!!

  3. Can this be made without alcohol? I don’t do alcohol at all. Thanks in advance.

    • I haven’t tried this myself, but I have seen alcohol-free vanilla extract made with oil. Agave might also work. Probably best to try a small batch to start with and see if it works – let me know if you have any luck!

Leave a comment